About Us

We are a husband and wife team, a couple of friendly ‘hosts’. We have a happy, lively personality with lots of energy and endless patience. We are welcoming, reliable, understanding, honest and hardworking with a good sense of humour. Our home is occupied by two adults, and on some occasion we are privileged to share our home with one or two orphan/abandoned cats. Our home is their sanctuary!
We do not have any children of our own, but we really do enjoy and welcome the company of other people from all over the world; who bring along and introduce us to different cultures plus traditions. They fascinate us and help keep our spirits young.
Our home meets with the British Council (English UK) standards. They set out our ongoing responsibilities towards you as well as ensuring the continuity of the good services together with the high standards that are being provided and that it is maintained to benefit you at all times according to the most up-to-date strict guidelines. We regularly receive a personal visit from one of the ‘Accommodation Assessors’, who are certified, trained to inspect and monitor ‘host family’ accommodation such as ours.
Our dwelling is annually checked for safety by the ‘GAS SAFE’ and ‘CORGI’ authorised inspectors. We do have a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher as well as a fire blanket located in our kitchen. All the bedrooms are fitted with a fire alarm/smoke detector as well as all the hallways. Every landing in our home is equipped with a fire extinguisher that are regularly checked and tested. We also have an EMERGENCY house plan with clear step-by-step instructions for everyone to follow.
My name is Elizabeth, but most people call me ‘Liz’. I am in my early fifties. I have a clean police record, checked with the DBS/CRB (Criminal Records Bureau) initially requested by OFSTED (Office for Standards in Education – Children’s Services and Skills) and again updated by the English (UK) Enterprises. I am a Non Smoker. I am ‘First Aid’ trained originally through the British Red Cross and further enhanced through my local authority. I have a certificate in ‘Food Hygiene’ obtained through my local authority. I have a full United Kingdom driver’s licence, with the appropriate insurance cover.
My career started from being an ABTA (Association of British Travel Agents) approved retail travel manager to being a BITOA (British Incoming Tour Operators Association) approved office manager. Thereafter, I progressed to being the managing director of my own Incoming Tour Company. After 15 years in the travel industry, I changed course and decided to experience life in a different field. I took on a receptionist role in organisations such as the ‘Bar Council’, CPD Officer (Continuing Professional Development Officer) at the ‘Institute of Biomedical Science’, and most recently a part-time receptionist/administrator position at a local GP’s Surgery.
Unfortunately, I do not get much time to pursue my hobbies, but when I do get the chance, I enjoy reading (anything that is useful and educational), listening to good music (with sentimental lyrics), exchanging views and opinions on current affairs – (meaning harmless gossiping), cooking, and most importantly learning from ‘YOU’ our international guests.
My husband’s name is Anthony, but most people call him ‘Tony’. He is in his late fifties. He also has the same clean enhanced police record checked with the DBS/CRB (Criminal Records Bureau) as myself. He is a smoker, but is working on giving up. He has a full United Kingdom driver’s licence; with a fully comprehensive insurance cover the same as me.
He is a computer consultant in addition to being the managing director of his own computer repairs and services company. On occasion he works from home.
He adores anything to do with gadgets, he spends endless hours constructing. In his spare time he enjoys listening to classical music, Jazz, learning new languages, reading, researching topics of interest on the Internet such as science, medicine, spiritual awareness and computer technology, etc… He is also very passionate about the animals on this planet. He regularly adopts orphan/abandoned animals, presently we share our home with a female cat.
People find our pets fascinating and amusing!

Testimonials

We stayed one week with this host family and its been gorgeous. They are such a lovely couple that make you feel as if you were with your own family at home. They are really friendly and they are always trying to make you feel comfortable. Thank you so much for your time and your food, it tastes delicious. We’ll visit you next time we travel to London. Take care Seila & Layre. xxx
Seila & Layre,  Spain,  Age range 25 – 35   (May 2018)
An unforgettable home stay experience! I really enjoyed the warm atmosphere, well furnished room, nicely prepared food and lovely conversations at mealtimes.
Marmar,  Iran,  Age Range 26 – 30   (June 2016)
I really enjoyed my stay at Liz and Tony’s home. It lasted one week. They are very kind and helpful people. They made me feel comfortable and helped me by giving me information about means of transport, the way of life and places to visit in London. The home is very clean and tidy. Liz makes very delicious and healthy food. I recommend this home for anyone who wants to visit London either for a short or a long period.
Mariem,  Tunisia,  Age Range 18 – 25   (January 2015)

 

Elizabeth and Tony are so nice! They make you feel like a family member. They clearly do not host you for money but because they LOVE to. Be respectful with them, punctual and friendly and your stay will be amazing. Liz knows everything about London and she won’t hesitate to help you and give you any advice. It is easy to go to central London from their house once you’ve done it, I’d say 45 mins by bus and tube. I had a great time in London thanks to them and I improved my english. We will keep in touch for sure! If I come back to London, I will stay at Liz and Tony’s, I don’t think I could find better host seriously.
Take care,
Happy New Year.
Mélanie G.
Melanie,  France,  Age range 18-25  (January 2015)

 

I spent two weeks with Tony and Liz and I really enjoyed their company, as well as their friendliness and hospitality. I arrived with a friend and they IMEDIATELY made us feel at ease. The very first evening we were feeling like we knew them since ever.
They’re always keen to talk and eager both to tell you interesting facts and listen to you.
You never feel alone.
One of the weeks I spend at their place I was alone and, I remember one evening coming home feeling really bad for a terrible day I had and like she got my feeling Liz offered me a hot chocolate spontaneously and talked with me until late, which made me feel relaxed and really made my day!
Liz’s always keen to learn about new coltures and new things and she ‘s a great chapeone. And Tony’s so kind! The day I had to leave he gave me a lift with his car because it was raining and I had a big luggage!
They’re a fantastic family!
Annamaria,  Italy,  Age Range 18 – 25   (September 2014)

 

Elizabeth and Tony are really welcoming, friendly and opened for all cultures.
They are located in a great safety area it is not far away from the underground – let’s say about 15 min walk but this wasn’t a problem for me. (you could use the bus instead)
It isn’t far away from the underground station to go to London City because London has in general a good underground system.
Elizabeth has great tips how you could visit London City and we had in general lovely conversations.
I can really recommend to stay at Elizabeth and Tony’s house.
I’m looking forward to come back.
Martina,  Germany,  Age Range 18-25   (September 2014)

 

I stayed for ten days with Liz and Tony. They are adorable family. They are warm-hearted so always try to help me. I want to say more than “Thank you” to them. Whatever you need such as finding job or learning English or trip, they’re going to help you. They also love speaking with people and spend time with guests, so if you want to improve your english, this homestay would be the best place for you!! The house is always clean and organized. Another great thing is the FOOD!!! Fantastic!!! Home made Food!! Liz is really good at cooking with great ingredients. She also care about their balance. You can really enjoy the dinner time here. There are three rooms-two double,one single- so you can meet some guest. It’s also wonderful experience. If I can stay London more, I’ll definatly stay Liz and Tony’s house.
SoYeon,  South Korea,  Age Range 30 – 35   (May 2014)

 

We spent a fantastic week at Liz’s and Tony’s place: very great, talkative and generous people. If you want a real contact with your hosts and to practice your English skills I highly recommend this house.
The house was very nice and clean, Liz serves hearty breakfasts and dinners.
It takes roughly 45 min. to get into the city (bus and tube)
Isabelle,  France,  Age Range 35 – 40   (May 2014)

 

I had a really nice stay at Elisabeth’s home. Her and her husband are very kind, listening, and generous.
The bedroom and bathroom are both very clean. The house’s area is peaceful and safe. The meals are very varied.
I deeply recommend this host family !
Delphine,  France,  Age Range 18 – 25   (April 2014)

 

Elizabeth and Anthony are the perfect family to go to practise your english and to improve it.
I spent a really great time with them, they are very nice people.
The house is very nice and clean. Elizabeth cooks excellents meals every day differents.
Alessandra Sofia,  Italy,  Age Range 18-25  (March 2014)